Skip to content

New Ontario Brewing Company named 'New Business of the Year'

This year, there were a record number of 47 nominations.
new ontario brewing company rv 2016
New Ontario Brewing Company is the Chamber of Commerce 'New Business of the Year'. From left, Paul Daigle, Mike Harrison and Ron Clancy, and Denise Sherritt. Mike and Ron are the two co-owners and Paul and Denise are from the Business Centre, Nipissing Parry Sound. Photo courtesy Ryen Veldhuis.

The North Bay and District Chamber of Commerce held its Bell Evening of Excellence Awards Thursday night at a gala dinner at The Grande Event Centre.

This year, there were a record number of 47 nominations. Each category was voted on by the committee and the executive under criteria provided in advance to the nominees.  From there, the slate was narrowed down to the top three in each category and all twenty-four nominees were highlighted at the Bell Evening of Excellence Awards. 

The winners announced in the eight categories are:

  • Success Story:  Canadore College for NPREP
  • New Business of the Year:  New Ontario Brewing Company
  • Not for Profit of the Year:  North Bay Food Bank
  • Young Professional:  Andrea Silveri, CPA, CA with Grant Thornton
  • Innovation and Environment Business of the Year:  MetricAid Inc.
  • Small Business of the Year (1-5 employees):  Deacon Wealth Management
  • Small Business of the Year (6-15 employees): Tranquility Spa Salon
  • Business of Year (16+ employees): Gin-Cor Industries

New Ontario Brewing Company opened its doors to the public 23 September 2015 and has been accelerating ever since. One year into its operations, the company is a recognizable brand with products available at its retail store and manufacturing facilities on Cassells Street and over 55 bars and restaurants in North Bay and surrounding areas. The Company set the initial goal of having five employees by the end of year three. At the end of the first year of operations, the “Brew Crew” consist of five full-time employees and nine part-time employees, including several university and college students.

Prior to the Business Awards the Betty Alcorn Memorial Award, which has been presented since 1977, for director of the year and the Mary Ellen Horner Memorial Award, which has been presented since 2002, for Volunteer of the Year were announced.  These awards are presented to the director and volunteer, voted by the board, as having best exemplified dedication and diligence during the current year and have "laboured untiringly for the good and welfare of the Chamber and community".

This year’s Volunteer of the Year is a lady who is a past director but also an outstanding chair of the Value Committee – Elizabeth Evans, Chartwell Barclay House.

The 2016 Director of the Year chosen by their peers on the board is Past President, John Strang, U-Need-A-Cab.

It is the prerogative of the President each year, if they so choose, to present a Presidents Award.

"This year it went to a leader who has benefited the community in many ways, who is a tireless volunteer, who is an educator with an entrepreneurial spirit, an optimist that empowers others to action, and a true friend of the community," says a Chamber news release.

The award was presented to George Burton, President of Canadore College.

if (document.documentElement.clientWidth < 767) { function loadFlipp() { var e = document.createElement('script'); e.setAttribute('language', 'javascript'); e.setAttribute('type', 'text/javascript'); e.setAttribute('async', ''); e.setAttribute('src', '//'); document.body.appendChild(e); } loadFlipp(); window.flippxp = window.flippxp || { run: [] }; () { window.flippxp.registerSlot("#flipp-ux-slot-8b2c50a", "glacier_media", 1181177, [256001]); }); }