Skip to content

Local NHLer and Olympic swimmer highlight North Bay Sports HOF class of '23

The event split into two different events on April 27 and May 11.

Former NHLer Steve McLaren and former Olympic swimmer Dominique Bouchard highlight the North Bay Sports Hall of Fame class of 2023.  

The 49-year-old McLaren played 6 games in the NHL for the St. Louis Blues and spent 11 seasons in the American Hockey League. 

The 32-year-old Bouchard, a former North Bay Y Titans swimmer, won a silver medal for Canada at the Pan Am games in 2015 and competed for Team Canada at the 2016 Summer Olympics in Rio de Janiero, Brazil. 

The North Bay Sports Hall of Fame's 43rd Annual Induction and Awards Dinner event will be held at the Davedi Club on Airport Road in North Bay.

The dinner will be held on two separate nights; Saturday, April 27th and Saturday, May 11, 2024.

The following Inductees and Award Winners will be honoured at this special two-part event for their achievements and contributions to sport in North Bay. 

Tickets are available from Larry Tougas at 705-303-8104 or any Hall of Fame Board Member. Tickets are also available at the Davedi Club by calling 705-474-4190.

Saturday, April 27, 2024

Inductees: Chris Bonany, Ken Cox, Len Gushe, Steve McLaren, Isabelle Sauve

Sports Award Winners for 2023:

Judge Harry J Reynolds Memorial Trophy for Hockey – Maria Dominico

Jack Burrows Memorial Award for Sports Achievement – Alex Maycock, Robert Shaw

John Toswell Memorial Award for Curling – Patti Callahan

Al Brennan Memorial Trophy for Coach of the Year – Fransua Rachmann

Jim Aspin Memorial Award for Executive of the Year – Kiara Jefferies

George Martyn Memorial Trophy for Basketball – Dan Coutu

Special Olympics Award of Excellence – Riley Bell

Saturday, May 11, 2024

Inductees: Dominique Bouchard, Ann-Renée Guillemette, Sue Knight, Gary Kraft, John Loyst, Brian Murray

Sports Award Winners for 2023:

Thomson Family Award for Contributions to Fastball, Softball, and Baseball – Lisa Hotte

Dedication to Soccer (North Bay Youth Soccer) – Marsha Bower

James Kelly Memorial Award for Team of the Year – Eigen Conejos & Ryan O’Donnell

Mort Fellman Memorial Award for Female Athlete of the Year – Annabelle Jackson

Britt Jessup Memorial Award for Male Athlete of the Year – Briir Long

Pete Palangio Award for Long-time Contribution to Sport – Marilyn Barlow

Peter Handley Friend of Sport – Buddy McLeod

Mike Mitchell/Larry Avery Award for Contribution to Football – Paul Butler