Skip to content

No takers for vacant Sundridge councillor seat

No one applied by the deadline so the vacancy has been reposted
20200606 mayor Lyle Hall with sign turl
Mayor Lyle Hall thinks he may have found a replacement councillor.

Sundridge town council will try a second time to fill a vacant council seat after former councillor Steve Hicks turned in his resignation.

 Hicks' resignation took effect May 6 and the municipality gave itself until June 1 to find a possible replacement.

 However, no one applied by the deadline.

See: Sundridge councillor resigns over 'obstructing and obfuscating'

Mayor Lyle Hall said following the deadline he's been in communication with someone who may be interested in filling the empty seat.

Town staff reposted the position and the public has until June 16 at 2 p.m. to step forward.

 The posting can be seen here and also at the municipal office.

Candidates can also submit a one-page statement about themselves.

Eligibility Requirements 

Any individual filling a vacancy must meet the eligibility requirements of office as outlined in the Act and the Municipal Elections Act as an eligible elector.

A candidate for office must be:  

  • 18 years of age or older
  • A Canadian citizen
  • A resident of The Village of Sundridge, or an owner or tenant of land in the Village or the spouse of such, and not prohibited from voting under any other Act or disqualified from holding municipal office.

 The selection process will be part of the June 22 council meeting where members of council will ask the nominees questions.

 If more than three people apply for the vacancy, the council will hold a special meeting prior to the regular June 22 meeting.

Hicks, who was a first-term councillor, quit because of issues he's had with the Township of Strong council, particularly with the fire board and medical board, which are services both municipalities share.

Rocco Frangione is a Local Journalism Initiative reporter who works out of the North Bay Nugget. The Local Journalism Initiative is funded by the Government of Canada.