Skip to content

Conservative Scott Aitchison scores big victory in Parry Sound - Muskoka

The former Huntsville mayor first won the seat in 2019
Parry Sound-Muskoka MP Scott Aitchison

Incumbent Conservative Scott Aitchison defended his seat in a huge way Monday in Parry-Sound Muskoka.

With just one poll left to report, Aitchison has 47.7 per cent of the vote, well ahead of Liberal Jovanie Nicoyishakiye, in second place with 21.5 per cent.

The former Huntsville mayor first won the seat in 2019.

Here are the standings as of 1 p.m. Tuesday.

Conservative Scott Aitchison  24,906  47.7 %
National Citizens Alliance James Fawcett  95  0.2 %
NDP-New Democratic Party Heather Hay  8,849  16.9 %
Green Party Marc Mantha  2,907  5.6 %
Liberal Jovanie Nicoyishakiye  11,226  21.5 %
Independent Daniel Predie Jr  200  0.4 %
People's Party - PPC James Tole  4,026  7.7 %

Aitchison says tackling housing issues will continue to be his top priority. Prior to his election, he served as mayor of Huntsville since 2014.

It sounds like a tough campaign with Aitchison tweeting, "Nastiness from the local Liberal Association on election day. Insulting me because your party doesn't care about Parry Sound-Muskoka seems a bit sad really."

Meanwhile, NDP Carol Hughes has been re-elected in Algoma-Manitoulin-Kapuskasing, NDP Charlie Angus has been re-elected in Timmins-James Bay, Liberal Marc Serré has been re-elected in Nickel Belt, and  Liberal Viviane Lapointe has been elected in Sudbury.